We Are Saved by GRACE


images-2Dear Paul and Kristen,

The Catholic Church does not teach that we are saved by works or that our own good works save us or anything of the sort. We are saved by grace and not by works lest anyone should boast.

Many Catholics may be confused but confused Catholics do not equal the teachings of the Catholic Church. Our good works attest to our Faith, exactly as it does for a Protestant. Just because you KristenUnknown

images-3

images-2

WANT to do things for the Lord… I love doing things for my Lord and Savior, not because I have to but because He saved me

…does not mean you are doing these things in order to be saved but to serve Our Lord.

So, we are all saved by Grace and not by our good deed, works, service etc. We all actually agree on this.

However, it is not that confused Catholics are having

a hard time taking it all in together because they just whip back out the “faith without works is dead”

Actually our faith encompasses all of Sacred Scripture such as:

Ephesians 2:5 even when we were dead through our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved),

Ephesians 2:8
For by grace you have been saved through faith; and this is not your own doing, it is the gift of God—

James 2: 14 What does it profit, my brethren, if a man says he has faith but has not works? Can his faith save him?….

James 2:17 So faith by itself, if it has no works, is dead.

James 2:18 But some one will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I by my works will show you my faith.

James 2:19 You believe that God is one; you do well. Even the demons believe—and shudder.

James 2:20 Do you want to be shown, you foolish fellow, that faith apart from works is barren? 21 Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he offered his son Isaac upon the altar? 22 You see that
faith was active along with his works, and faith was completed by works, 23 and the scripture was fulfilled which says, “Abraham believed God, and it was reckoned to him as righteousness”; and he was called the friend of God.

James 2:24 You see that a man is justified by works and not by faith alone.

James 2:25 And in the same way was not also Rahab the harlot justified by works when she received the messengers and sent them out another way?

James 2:26 For as the body apart from the spirit is dead, so faith apart from works is dead.

Philippians 2:12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling;

Colossians 1:24 Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I complete what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is, the church,

But most Protestant denominations just ignore these verses and act like they don’t really count even though they professes to be sola scriptura and believe in the inerrancy of scripture. Their doctrine implies that some of the above verses must be in error. That is why Martin Luther wanted to delete 7 books from the Bible.

Our good works are out of love for God. If they count for anything they do not count for our actual eternal salvation. Only Jesus Christ could accomplish that.

That is why we are saved by Grace.

However, there is another aspect to our spiritual life that Protestants usually do not think about or address with their doctrine. So, their view of salvation is sort of two dimensional. We are saved or not by having faith in Jesus, or not. That is it.That is what matters most.

For this reason, Protestants often misunderstand or just plain do not understand the Catholic Church’s teaching on a third dimension of the spiritual life; the necessity of purity before entering the Presence of a Holy God. Protestants just assume Jesus takes care of all of this and because they have no teaching many verses in Scripture just slip past their consciousness as they think, “Yes, yes, but Jesus will take care of all of that.”

Verses like:

1 Peter 1:15-16 but as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in all your conduct; 16 since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”

Leviticus 11:44-45 For I am the Lord your God; consecrate yourselves therefore, and be holy, for I am holy. You shall not defile yourselves with any swarming thing that crawls upon the earth. 45 For I am the Lord who brought you up out of the land of Egypt, to be your God; you shall therefore be holy, for I am holy.”

Leviticus 20:26 You shall be holy to me; for I the Lord am holy, and have separated you from the peoples, that you should be mine.

Proverbs 22:11 He who loves purity of heart, and whose speech is gracious, will have the king as his friend.

2 Corinthians 6:6 by purity, knowledge, forbearance, kindness, the Holy Spirit, genuine love,

1 Timothy 4:12 Let no one despise your youth, but set the believers an example in speech and conduct, in love, in faith, in purity.

1 Timothy 5:2 older women like mothers, younger women like sisters, in all purity.

We on the other hand take these exhortations to holiness and purity literally and believe and teach that we must actually BE totally pure before entering Heaven. So, God purifies us. And we merely cooperate by serving Him, doing good and loving in order to please Him. Whatever merit these good works might have they only serve to begin the purification process (not our eternal salvation) which He will bring to completion either in this life or the next. But they do not save us. That is the work of Christ. They attest to our faith and perhaps begin to purify us but only God knows for sure.

28 Responses

  1. Pam, To stand in front of God at the end of it all and tell Him that his Son’s brutal death on the cross just wasn’t quite good enough,after what you know, would scare me to death. PTL

    • Paul: I will be REALLY scared if knowing how Christ suffered a brutal death that all we believe is a substitutionary atonement by neglecting to respond to grace for betterment of ourselves in virtues and for the caring for the welfare (physical and spiritual) of our neighbors through works by our good stewardship of God’s mercy and love. It’s called doing the will of the Father. Show me in your bible where it says that a believer is passive requiring no personal will of sanctification by remaining a filthy “dung” covered by snow after repentance (in the words of your idol, Martin Luther). You may want to read Matt 7:21.

      • Francis, are you saved?

        • And why do you ask and what is it to you? What make you think that you are more righteous than me? You should take a lesson from St. Paul when he exhorts: “I’m not aware of anything against myself, but I am NOT THEREBY ACQUITTED. It is the LORD WHO JUDGES ME. Therefore do not pronounce judgement BEFORE THE TIME, before the Lord comes …” (1 Cor 4:4-5). Yes, I was saved, being saved now and have the assured hope of final perseverance of the grace of salvation. If I were you, I won’t be bragging how you are saved forever by a one-moment-in-time decision which is the biggest lie perpetrated by the Devil. Salvation is living out your faith for the rest of your life. Did you even bother to read Matt 7:21? Did Christ cite the criterion of “being saved” as prerequisite for entering heaven? No, he didn’t but rather, restating the importance of doing the spiritual and corporal works of mercy while also condemning the self-righteousness of Christians.

          • Dear Jesus, I come to you today just as I am I know I’m a sinner. I know I can’t save myself. I believe you died on the cross to take my sin away. I’m sorry for what I’ve done wrong. Please come into my life and be the savior of my life. From this day forward, I will follow you the best I can. Thank you Jesus

  2. Paul, When have I asserted that Jesus’ death on the cross wasn’t quite good enough?

  3. Remember Pam ” The Lamb of God. WHO takes away the sin of the world.

  4. So do you think St. Paul was in error when he wrote:

    Colossians 1:24 Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I complete what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is, the church”?

    • Sometimes I just lean back in my chair and think about Jesus walking down the path towards John the Baptist. Then John said ” look, the LAMB OF GOD WHO TAKES AWAY THE SIN OF THE WORLD” . I think that is a profound statement. I roll that over and over again in my mind. Blows me away. TKS. PTL

    • It is very interesting that you have avoided my questions in response to your accusations. Do you know what an ad hominem is?

  5. No I didn’t. I had to look it up.
    An Ad Hominem is a general category of fallacies in which a claim or argument is rejected on the basis of some irrelevant fact about the author of or the person presenting the claim or argument. Typically, this fallacy involves two steps. First, an attack against the character of person making the claim, her circumstances, or her actions is made (or the character, circumstances, or actions of the person reporting the claim). Second, this attack is taken to be evidence against the claim or argument the person in question is making (or presenting). This type of “argument” has the following form:

  6. Pam, you and Francis remind me of me. I was a hard case. I was on my road to Damascus and got a right cross from Jesus I’ll never forget. I think the whole world shook when I went to my knees. 47 years in a church, 12 years of religious ed.,2 hours a day, Mass 6 days a week, parish council, choir director, washed the priests cars-with help-, had the keys to the church in my pocket, alter boy. Snow plowed the lot. When somebody shared the Gospel with me, I let em have it good. Then I found out I was one of those outside the gate saying “LORD LORD LOOK AT ALL THE STUFF I’VE DONE!! “Go away from me you knucklehead, & get it right”
    I was thinking of changing my screen name to “filthy rag boy”.
    What do you think? PS I’m not aware of any personal attacks coming from this side. If I did, I’m sorry.
    It’s ok, 1/2 the people I witness to are Catholic. I know whats coming. I was one of them, and maybe the worst! Jesus said this would happen. I think It’s thrilling to be in the trenches for the Gospel, face to face. I get up in the morning and put my thick skin on.
    Pam, what a force for the Gospel You and Francis will be when that day comes. Just think how much better you be at it than I am. It’s exciting PTL paul

  7. Paul: I wonder why you are so presumptuous about the interior state of another person when only God alone can judge? While I can fully appreciate how your faith has had been liven through a new conversion of the heart, it’s not saying that ONLY your brand of religiosity alone is authentic. I also used to be hypocritical about the “dry bones” in the church but am also quick to realize that I can’t presume to know or judge someone by the yardstick of my own subjective and very limited-finite experience. All I can do is to live out my faith in obedience and humility, so as to become a worthy witness of my discipleship in Christ. I think that it is almost tragically unfortunate that you have chosen to acquire an Evangelical jargon which is not always the clearest or rationalistic way of expressing your thoughts. In fraternal correction, I have to say that it’s very rude of you to insinuate that Pam was unconverted as a former Evangelical and now still unproven as a Catholic in her sincere desire to embrace the fullness of all the eternal truths as “ye be perfect” in her journey of faith. Why do you misplace the moment of grace of a spiritual “high” of conversion by simply acculturated it into the anti-Catholic bigotry of popular fundamentalism?

    • Francis, I have orders from headquarters. Salvation is from the Jews and go make disciples of all Nations. Save the B S for someone else and lets go to work spreading the good news that Christ died for our sin. I went to Jesus with the mind of a child so you need to tone it down a little when you talk to me. I have to read everything you write 5 times to get 1/2 of it. When Jesus asked “ARE YOU SO DULL” He was talking about me. I’m so glad God loves me, I never knew that growing up. Shame on them! After all that! What do you think of “filthy rag boy”. PTL paul

  8. Paul: We’re to be childlike but not childish. Thank you for sharing. You take care, my friend. (You should say sorry to Pam. Really.)

  9. I’m sorry Pam, I want you heaven. p

    • Paul, You are extremely arrogant and unkind to those who do not articulate their faith the same as you. The Word says to “believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and thou shalt be saved, and thy house.” As obviously as humanly possible, Pam has declared she believes on the Lord Jesus Christ. For some reason, however, you will not accept this declaration. Paul, you must take your doubt up with the Lord. You are the one with the problem. When you question her salvation based on the church in which she chooses to worship, you are absolutely devoid of Christian charity. God looks on the heart and man cannot. We cannot know who is saved, only God can. God can and does save in every Christian church. There will be tares and wheat in all of them.

  10. Dear Walking, If having Jesus as savior is arrogant then count me in!!
    If the Catholic church is your salvation You have BIG BIG problems.
    Remember precious one, Salvation is from the Jews.
    Today is the day of Salvation. The Catholic Church doesn’t teach that. I believe there are saved people in the Catholic Church, they just didn’t saved in the Catholic Church.
    How many millions are in hell for eating meat on Friday?? Oh right, that’s been changed. The nuns had my Born again father in hell from day one. You ask a Catholic if he is born again and he looks at you as if you have rocks in your head. AND JESUS SAID YOU HAD TO DO IT!! I know that you will spin this around, but please don’t spin yourself into hell.My church or your church isn’t going to save you, but the BLOOD OF CHRIST WILL. makes a lot of sense doesn’t it? All the religions of the the world look different when you get saved. Praying for my Catholic friends daily. I know, that’s arrogant, but I do it. paul

    • Paul, You assume too much! I am not Catholic and the point of my reply was to point out YOUR lack of Christian charity. Responding the way you do is not conducive to winning souls. Neither you, nor anyone else can do the work of the Holy Spirit in someone’s life. Also, I never said having Jesus as savior is what makes you arrogant; your arrogant replies are what makes you so. If you are the example of how a Christian should interact with a person who is not, I am fearful of how many you have caused to stumble.

      • Dear Walking, are you saved? Do you have Christ as your personal Savior?

        • Paul,
          I am saved and I have a deep and intimate relationship with my savior Jesus Christ (not that I am bound to answer to YOU), and as Paul taught the Phillipians, (12 “Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.”) I continue to work out my own salvation. You, also, would do well to follow the advice of Paul!

  11. Dear Paul,
    Every time you ask this question it is a slap in our face and offensive. Jesus never exhorted His disciples:

    Go therefore and offend people of all nations….

    Rather He said:

    Matt 28:19 Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you;

    I Corinthians 13:If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give away all I have, and if I deliver my body to be burned,[a] but have not love, I gain nothing.

    4 Love is patient and kind; love is not jealous or boastful; 5 it is not arrogant or rude. Love does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; 6 it does not rejoice at wrong, but rejoices in the right. 7 Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

    • Pam, Amen!

      1 Peter 4:8(KJV)
      8 And above all things have fervent charity among yourselves: for charity shall cover the multitude of sins. And…

      Proverbs 10:12(KJV)
      12 Hatred stirreth up strifes: but love covereth all sins.

      If only all our Christian brothers and sisters would practice what the word teaches! Many would then desire to have what we have and according to Philippians 2:12″…work out your (their) own salvation with fear and trembling.”

  12. Paul – I’d be happy to be your sponsor when you decide to become Catholic. I am praying for you. Obviously, you are still a protestor making God to be in your image and not in the image as professed by His church on earth,

    • And yes, I am saved and Jesus Christ is my personal, my one and only Savior, through his holy and apolostic Church

    • Precious one, I was in the Catholic Church for 47 years. That was enough for me!! I had eyes but couldn’t see, ears but couldn’t hear. Then I got saved. WOW What a difference!! I”m outahere. Bless you guys. paul

  13. Paul: I don’t want you to leave here without saying how you have been a true inspiration for me. Yes, your story is extreme but not that uncommon as I’ve had always discerned how we can be caught up doing all the “churchy” things but then missing the mark of true discipleship. But like everything else in life, we cannot assume to have “arrived” by being complacent or even heart-hardened as to be oblivious to the abiding regenerating and renewal washing of the Holy Spirit in our daily lives. It’s in the story of Mary and Martha (and how Mary had chosen the better portion) where we can learn of the need to get alone with God amidst all the hustle and bustle of Martha’s world.

    I’m saddened that you are feeling the need to leave God’s Church in order to do God’s work. I hope that you don’t mind me for saying this, but the truth of the matter is that many people had trodden down that path (of “good intention”) before with unsuspecting disastrous results. If you still must, I wish you God’s speed and be safe. I hope that you will come home one day with equal zeal and fervor to help to build up the kingdom of God which is never individualistic, factious and divisive, but abiding in the prayerful mandate of Christ to be of “one Lord, one faith, one baptism” (Eph 4:5) in the obedience of Christ’s commandment for us to “have love for one another” so the world will believe (Jn 13:35). (BTW, I note that you did say sorry to Pam promptly. It must be so brave and strong of you to do so. Praise God!)

    Hang around, but if you must, vaya con Dios!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

