Can Anyone Suffer in Heaven?



Q. I’m greatly touched to believe that Mary and Jesus suffer with us in times of pain, but if Heaven is a place of peace and is without pain or sorrow, how can they suffer with us?

A. Hmmmmm… that is an interesting question. I never thought about those two things together.
Your comment made me nervous in trying to respond to it because I was thinking that my thoughts and comments might be drifting towards heresy. So I spoke to my confessor, about the fact that we are told there is no sorrow or suffering in Heaven and Mary seemed to be sad as she accompanied this boy during his suffering. I told him my thoughts and he said that first of all:

There is no suffering in Heaven.

So I was wrong to suggest there was some kind of sorrow there. So, we are probably unable in our present state to understand why we will not feel sad if loved ones are not in Heaven. We just must accept this teaching of the Church with docility and humility.

Regarding the apparent sadness of Mary and her suffering with the young boy he said something very interesting that I never would have thought of. That is why I love being Catholic there is such wisdom in her.

OK, Father told me that Mary’s suffering was not so much that she was suffering while in Heaven but it related, in a mystical way, to her union with her Son’s suffering on the Cross. Jesus suffered all the ugliness and sorrows, of all the sins, of all people, since the beginning of the world, and into the future as well. Jesus bore the sins  of the abuser and the sorrow of the boy and in a mystical way so did His mother.

I am probably not explaining this as well as he did but I think it is sort of like how we enter into the eternal sacrifice on Calvary at every mass, in a mystical sense we are at the foot of the cross with Jesus and Mary and John. Likewise, Mary’s suffering united with Christ’s in time as well as into the future. So, I believe this means that Mary and Christ, speaking from our position IN TIME  really and truly suffered with us. So Mary was with him in his suffering but outside of time.

That is the best I can do. Father referred me to St. Thomas Acquinas for more information but I have no clue where to look.

2 Responses

  1. This is very interesting. I’ve been told that if we go to Heaven and say our brother does not, we won’t feel sorrow over this because we’re in Heaven, a place of pure joy. But the way you’re saying it, we can feel sorrow and suffering because we can’t spend Eternity with our loved ones, just we feel it in a different way.

  2. Dear Luke,
    Your comment made me nervous in trying to respond to it because I was thinking that mt thoughts and comments might be drifting towards false belief, inaccurate,or something not quite right.So I spoke to my confessor, about the fact that we are told there is no sorrow or suffering in Heaven and Mary seemed to be sad as she accompanied this boy during his suffering. I told him my thoughts and he said that first of all:

    There is no suffering in Heaven.

    So I was wrong to suggest there was some kind of sorrow there. So, we are probably unable in our present state to understand why we will not feel sad if loved ones are not in Heaven. We just must accept this teaching of the Church with docility and humility.

    Regarding the apparent sadness of Mary and her suffering with the young boy he said something very interesting that I never would have thought of. That is why I love being Catholic there is such wisdom in her.

    OK, Father told me that Mary’s suffering was not so much that she was suffering while in Heaven but it related, in a mystical way, to her union with her Son’s suffering on the Cross. He suffered all the ugliness and sorrows, of all the sins, of all people, since the beginning of the world, and into the future as well. Jesus bore the sins of the priest and sorrow of the boy and in a mystical way so did His mother.

    I am probably not explaining this as well as he did but I think it is sort of like how we enter into the eternal sacrifice on Calvary at every mass, in a mystical sense we are at the foot of the cross with Jesus and Mary and John. Likewise, Mary’s suffering united with Christ’s in time as well as into the future. So, I believe this means that Mary and Christ already suffered with us 2000 years ago. So Mary was with him in his suffering but outside of time.

    That is the best I can do. Father referred me to St. Thomas Acquinas for more information but I have no clue where to look.

Leave a Reply

