Why Do Catholics Take Communion Every Week?



Q. Where does it say in the Bible that you have to take communion every week?

A. It does not say anything about the frequency of communion in the Bible. Jesus only says, “as often as you do this” That is why there is such diversity in

Sola-Scriptura-Christendom. Some churches offer communion four times a year (every quarter), some once a month and others every Sunday or every day. For instance the Catholic Church offers the Mass and communion every day in nearly all of her churches around the world and sometimes more than once a day in large metro areas. But a Catholic is only required to receive communion once a year, preferably around Easter.

CCC 2042 The third precept “You shall receive the sacrament of the Eucharist at least during the Easter season”) guarantees as a minimum the reception of the Lord’s Body and Blood in connection with the Paschal feasts, the origin and center of the Christian liturgy”

The reason for the once a year requirement is not b/c it is thought to be optimal but because in some cultures people would not ever receive communion out of an exaggerated sense of their unworthiness. Therefore, the Church made the once a year requirement.

Q. I believe that we should take communion, but that is not the thing that is growing you closer to GOD. It should be about digging deeper into his word and learning more about him.

A. Catholics believe that ,just like we eat food to nourish our physical bodies, we receive communion to nourish and keep our soul strong enough to keep pursuing God and resist the temptations and deceptions of Our Enemy. The Eucharist is spiritual nourishment. The stronger our soul is the more likely it is to dig deeper in His word and learn more about him.

Q. Taking communion once a month or whatever then, it should not matter because we are still obeying him by doing it.

A. So taking communion once a month is fine but you deprive your soul of spiritual food. I go to mass every day because my soul needs all the help it can get.:-) Jesus did say, John 6:53 Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. 54Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. 55For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink. 56Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me, and I in him. 57Just as the living Father sent me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on me will live because of me. 58This is the bread that came down from heaven. Your forefathers ate manna and died, but he who feeds on this bread will live forever.”

We go to Church every week in obedience to The Commandment to “Keep the Sabbath Holy”

12 Responses

  1. Sister Lucia, the last visionary of Fatima writes in her book “Calls” about the Eucharist:”If we do not receive the food of Holy Communion, we shall not have within us the life of grace, the supernatural life that depends on our union with Christ through receiving His Body and Blood in Communion.
    It was for this that He remained in the Eucharist, in order to be our spiritual food, our daily bread which sustains the supernatural life within us.”

  2. >>The reason for the once a year requirement is not b/c it is >>thought to be optimal but because in some cultures people >>would not ever receive communion out of an exaggerated >>sense of their unworthiness. Therefore, the Church made >>the once a year requirement.

    – thanks for this explanation, I know I spent one whole month, going to Mass every sunday, but not taking communion because I did not feel worthy/clean of receiving/being in god presence. It really changes who you become and how much you strive to be holy when you know that you are actually receiving the body and blood and soul and divinity of our lord Jesus Christ, in the Eucharist,

    – I know that our protestant brother feel the same by reading the word of God, and some like you then understand the fullness of his word, in the Eucharist. (If I understand you)

    – I started believing in the Eucharist, before I started to read and I am still trying to understand his word.

    – I wish I could to mass everyday, but my work hours don’t permit it.

    – it ‘s only Wednesday and I can not wait for Sunday to receive the Eucharist

    – tell me is it as wonderful everyday, as it is once a week, or is the weekly anticipation part of the joy that I am getting/feeling ?

    – In case your wondering, I went to confession after that month of feeling unworthy, and felt clean afterwords. It was wonderful to receive communion again.

    >>If we do not receive the food of Holy Communion, we >>shall not have within us the life of grace, the >>supernatural life that depends on our union with Christ >>through receiving His Body and Blood in Communion.

    I think sister Lucia says what I am feeling, like a supernatural grace from God has touched my heart.

    But I know all catholic don’t feel that way, why is that?

    I know I did not feel that why before.
    Maybe like me before, I did not believe in actual presence?

    But now I only want to talk about Jesus, but not many people want to listen or understand what I am going through.

    Rico (catholic re-convert after 20 years)

  3. I would say it is because they cannot get to Church daily!

  4. all we need evryday is god’s word that is our bread of life… stay readin his word an u will have understanding of his word. his word is the bread of life not some eucharist u get on sunday.. it like saying u need that eucharist to stay close to god n where does the bible mention dat at..

    read ur bible my brothers n sisters all of god truth is in their. search out n god will give u the answer he would not give us sumthing dat we cant understand.. i pray u all search out the truths and walk away from catholicism, and all other religions…
    WHEN IS TRU SABBATH DAYY? IT IS SEVENTH DAY . WAT DAY IS DAT WELL DEFINTION SUNDAY-FIRST DAY OF WEEK ..SATURDAY- SEVENTH DAY OF WEEK .. LOOK UP IN DICTIONARY. EXODUS 20:8-11 SPEAKS ABOUT SABBATH DAY AND WAT WE CANT DO ..
    the 10 commandments Exodus 20:1-17 these r true commandments in bible .

  5. “taking communion once a month is fine but you deprive your soul of spiritual food”?? What is this?? Once you’re saved, you’re saved. The holy spirit isn’t just going to slip out of you, and you’re not going to heaven any less than someone who takes communion less. Taking communion isn’t going to save our soul. That was done at the cross a looong time ago. 🙂

    • You are not saved until you are in heaven. You still have the free will to deny Christ by sinning. John 6 is for real!

    • @Mistry & Leti: If by chance the Catholic Church is right and the Eucharist is truly the body and blood of our Lord, you’ve just committed a grave sin by disrespecting our God and Savior. Who are we to say or think otherwise if Christ said emphatically: ” … Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of man and drink his blood, you have no life in you; he who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day … he who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him … so he who eats me will live because of me … he who eats this bread will live for ever” (Jn 6:52-58).

      Catholics are more faithful and biblical Christians than you have been led to believe.

  6. Dear Misty,
    Communion is spiritual food. It nourishes our soul to strengthen against Our Enemy. We don’t take communion in order to keep the Holy Spirit in us. It is Jesus who joins His soul to ours in Communion. We can only lose the Holy Spirit through mortal/deadly sin as St. John and St. Paul mention in their epistles.

    You say that taking communion isn’t going to save our soul. Are you aware that you are opposing the very words of Our Lord in John 6?

    John 6:50 “This is the bread which comes down out of heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die.
    John 6:51,53-58 I am the living bread that came down out of heaven; if anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread also which I will give for the life of the world is My flesh.…So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves.
    He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.
    “For My flesh is true food, and My blood is true drink.
    “He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides
    in Me, and I in him.
    “As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats Me, he also will live because of Me.
    “This is the bread which came down out of heaven; not as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.”

    And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.”
    In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you.Luke 22:19-20

  7. I watch people on Sundays, it is nearly 99 percent of the congregation who go to Communion. I wonder: how on earth is it possible? because the queues for confessions are not long at all. Does it mean these people never do anything wrong??? I envy them, myself I constantly do some really bad things so refrain from communion – and I will not go to confession every 1-2 weeks, doesnt make any sense. So…HOW DO THEY DO THAT to be such ‘angels’ ????

    • Dear Marti,
      One may not go to communion if they have sinned mortally and not gone to confession. It is certainly possible that people are going to communion who should not. How many have missed mass for no good reason, not gone to confession and still go to communion? But even if everyone who goes to communion on a Sunday does not have mortal sin on their soul, this does not mean that they have no sin, no venial sin. Venial sin can be forgiven by the prayers of the mass, or individual prayers for forgiveness. So, if the really bad things you do are serious sin, mortal sin, then you should not go to communion. But, unless you have mortal sin and need to go to confession you may still go to communion. And you should, in order to receive nourishment to resist sin.

  8. […] that said, I should note that the Catholic Church teaches that we should receive the Eucharist at a minimum of once per year, typically around the Easter […]

Leave a Reply

