Protestants Say: Catholics Earn their Salvation by Good Works


Protestants say Catholicism teaches salvation is: Merited by doing good works-

FALSE. Good works and offering reparation for our sins is for purifying ourselves from sin and attachment to sin. It is not to earn salvation. Only Christ could merit salvation for us. What good we do could NEVER save us it purifies us from sin in an effort to progress in holiness because,

Nothing impure will ever enter it (Heaven) Rev. 21:27

“.. like the Holy One who called you, be holy yourselves also in all your behavior; because it is written, ‘You shall be holy, for I am holy.’” 1 Peter 1:13-16

Leviticus 11:44 …and be holy; for I am holy…”

Leviticus 20:26: “Thus you are to be holy to Me, for I the Lord am holy; ”

Matthew 5:16Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.

Ephesians 2:10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.

1 Timothy 2:10…but rather by means of good works, as is proper for women making a claim to godliness.

1 Timothy 5:10…having a reputation for good works; and if she has brought up children, if she has shown hospitality to strangers, if she has washed the saints’ feet, if she has assisted those in distress, and if she has devoted herself to every good work.

1 Timothy 6:18…Instruct them to do good, to be rich in good works,

So, our good works are in obedience to Christ and in order to progress towards holiness. What is deficient in this progress will be completed in Purgatory–total purification in order to enter into the presence of God. This is what we must do. Jesus saved us but we must cooperate with Him to effect purification, either in this life or the next. This in the Bible too:

Colossians 1:24Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I do my share on behalf of His body, which is the church, in filling up what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions

2 Responses

  1. Why are catholics so obsessed with what protestants believe? I am neither catholic or protestant. But it seems like catholics spend more time arguing about the word than living it, like they are trying to convince themself that they are right over everyone else. If u believe your interpretation of the bible and your practices are right then good for u. I aint going to argue with you, each to there own. We all will find out the truth one day. I have a strong, personal relationship with God and I know that Jesus is in my heart and he has answered my prayers to the point where its had me in tears to see his blessings and his love in my life. I’m more than grateful for everything he does and has done in my life, I know that id be lost without him. The grace and glory of God is truely amazing. I dont expect you or anyone to believe me or change your views etc… I’m just sharing my testimony and experience. I dont have religion with God, I have a relationship with God. I think all this “my religions better than your religion” nonesense is ridiculous. While your spending your time arguing about your religion, that time could be better used to worshipping and praising God and praying to him, devoting your time and energy to him instead of trying to prove why your right and everybody else is wrong. I’m not perfect and dont know every single verse written in the bible, but I know God because he speaks to my heart. God bless you ALL, regardless of beliefs, religions etc… Peace be with you.

    • Simon, This blog is dedicated to answering questions Protestants have about the Catholic Faith and clearing up misconceptions, misunderstandings and the lies about what Catholics believe.

      I am sorry if it sounds like a game of one upmanship. But I myself believed all these lies about what Catholic believed and once I found out the truth I am so happy now being Catholic for the past 12 years. I love the Catholic Faith. It is everything I had as a Protestant and more. It is so much more intellectutally satisfying and peaceful. It is no longer all about me and my interpretation of Scripture.

      I am so happy that you are close to Jesus and have experienced his grace in your life. Me too.

Leave a Reply

