Good Friday Freak-Out!


UnknownOn Good Friday, the day before I was to be received into the Catholic Church they brought out a large crucifix and people began to process forward to kiss Jesus.
I ABSOLUTELY FREAKED OUT!!
Although, outwardly I appeared calm I was thinking,

“AhHa! Here it is! Right before my own eyes!!

IDOL WORSHIP!!

I need to get out of here!”

But I was trapped in the middle of the pew. Then the voice of REASON intruded into the voice of FEAR and I thought,

“Wait a minute. I have been confronted, time and time again, with Catholic teaching and practices. At first, I immediately thought, at those times, that there ABSOLUTELY COULD NOT BE A GOOD EXPLANATION FOR THAT!

But, then, each and every time, as I looked into the whys and wherefores of why the Catholic Church taught and did THAT, I discovered an explanation that was absolutely SUBLIME! The answer was better and more intellectually satisfying than anything I could have ever thought of or asked for.”

Therefore, I decided to just trust the Church. I dutifully processed forward with my pew-mates and kissed the feet of Jesus. Now, I KNEW that statue on that crucifix was NOT really Jesus; it just represented Jesus. And so in my heart and soul, when I kissed the feet of the statue, I showed HIM that I desired to truely kiss HIS feet, the feet of my Beloved! … of my Savior! … of my GOD!

I could hardly wait to do it again next year!

17 Responses

  1. O Crux ave, spes unica.

  2. uhmmmm….I am dumb. What is the translation? Hail Cross? but then what?

  3. Idol worshiping! Yes indeed. Ten commandments and what was written. Jesus prayed looking upward towards heaven. Catholics even bow to priests when they should be bowing when they mention the Lords’ name. Kissing the feet of the statue still represent worshiping idols.

    The question becomes, what does God consider an idol? After all, isn’t Yeshua allegedly God in the shape of a man?

    Habakkuk 2: 18 “Of what value is an idol, since a man has carved it? Or an image that teaches lies? For he who makes it trusts in his own creation; he makes idols that cannot speak. 19 Woe to him who says to wood, ‘Come to life!’ Or to lifeless stone, ‘Wake up!’ Can it give guidance? It is covered with gold and silver; there is no breath in it.

    Throughout the Torah and Haphtarah (and best represented in Habakkuk 2), an idol is described as a lifeless creation shaped (literally) by man from wood, stone, or metal. These manmade creations never bear any relationship to the God of Israel.

    By sharp contrast, Yeshua represents the God of Israel’s choice to empty himself into a living man in order to act as an intercessor between man and Himself. (See Isaiah 59:16; see also Matthew 10:32)

    But wait! Doesn’t Deuteronomy 4 indicate that God is without form? At times, yes. But one must not forget that God “takes form” as a man in Genesis 18:1-2. God also “takes form” in Numbers 12: 8 With him (Moses) I speak face to face, clearly and not in riddles; he sees the form of the LORD.

    The point is that at this point in Jewish history, God chose only to reveal His form in select circumstances. However, the notion that God “taking form” is tantamount to idol worship is simply not true. Deuteronomy 4 must be considered in the context of these other Torah passages – including the following:

    Deuteronomy 18: 15 The LORD your God will raise up for you a prophet like me (Moses) from among your own brothers. You must listen to him. 16 For this is what you asked of the LORD your God at Horeb on the day of the assembly when you said, “Let us not hear the voice of the LORD our God nor see this great fire anymore, or we will die.” 17 The LORD said to me: “What they say is good. 18 I will raise up for them a prophet like you from among their brothers; I will put my words in his mouth (word of God in a man), and he will tell them everything I command him. 19 If anyone does not listen to my words that the prophet speaks in my name, I myself will call him to account.

    It is important to note that God is not simply speaking of the prophets in general (Isaiah, Eziekel, etc.), but “a prophet” as great as Moses. A prophet that will play a role far greater than those played by traditional prophets, whom God communicates with through visions and dreams. (See Numbers 12:6.)

  4. @ Dan: We need not go too far to find a definition of idol worship. In the First Commandment:

    Exodus 20:
    1 And the Lord spoke all these words: 2 I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage. 3 Thou shalt not have strange gods before me. 4 Thou shalt not make to thyself a graven thing, nor the likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, nor of those things that are in the waters under the earth. 5 Thou shalt not adore them, nor serve them: I am the Lord thy God, mighty, jealous, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children, unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me.

    It’s necessary to read the verses together. The commandment doesn’t end after verse 4. God forbids us to have strange gods in verse 3. In verse 5, He identifies when a “graven thing” becomes a “strange god”, that we are not to make images for the purpose of adoring and serving them … only then graven images become the sinful objects that are forbidden in the first commandment.

    • I still don’t understand why he stayed a catholic because is it right after he kissed the so called feet of a statue and that how the statue represents Jesus!

      • Dear Dan,

        In A.D. 787, the Seventh Eucumenical Council proclaimed:

        We define that the holy icons, whether in color, mosaic, or some other material, should be exhibited in the holy churches of God, on the sacred vessels and liturgical vestments, on the walls, furnishings, and in houses and along the roads, namely the icons of our Lord God and Savior Jesus Christ, that of our Lady the Theotokos, those of the venerable angels and those of all saintly people. Whenever these representations are contemplated, they will cause those who look at them to commemorate and love their prototype. We define also that they should be kissed and that they are an object of veneration and honor (timitiki proskynisis), but not of real worship (latreia), which is reserved for Him Who is the subject of our faith and is proper for the divine nature….he who venerates the icon, venerated in it the reality for which it stands.

        • It is not the Lord’s proclamation. It is mans proclamation. In other words they are telling us that this is how we remember the Lord our God through material things like the Catholics do.

          • Dear Dan,
            Surely you are aware that men wrote various books: poetry, advice literature, histories, prophecies, legal works. They were a bunch of different men who were sinners just like us. And then, thousands of years after some of these books were written, a bunch more men, sinners just like us decided that some of these books should be included in in the Holy Book of Christians. You have merely been taught to trust the work of some men long ago and not to trust anyone else. But you cannot know exactly why to trust the men who wrote and canonized the Bible. And, by the way, the Bible was canonized by the Catholic Church. So you are trusting the Catholic Church to give you the Bible, your Holy Book. But you don’t trust the Catholic Church for anything else. Does that make sense to you?

            • Close, but I am still not convinced that the rosary should be prayed because my believe is prayers to God and God alone and to mention that you guys regard Mary as an intercessor will not help you on judgement day.

          • Dear Dan,

            What did the Lord our God do?

            1. He founded a Church.
            2. Taught the members of His Church.
            3. Commanded them to proclaim His Teachings

            Why? Why didn’t Jesus write a document? In my opinion, it is because He wanted us to look to the Church which He appointed to teach what He commanded.

            Furthermore, the Teachings of Jesus Christ are His Traditions. And these Traditions tell us about Jesus Christ, who is the fulfillment of the Old Testament prophecies. Therefore, it can be said that the Traditions of Jesus Christ are the fulfillment of the Old Testament because they contain the knowledge of He who fulfilled the Old Testament.

            Still more, these Traditions are the basis of the New Testament. Because the authors of the New Testament were writing down the Teachings of Jesus Christ.

            Therefore, in order for one to understand the Scripture, one must understand Sacred Tradition. But in order to understand Sacred Tradition, one must learn from the Church. Because it is the Church which Jesus appointed to teach His Traditions.

            • I’ve read the bible before from the old to the new times 2. The only tradition of Jesus that I read about is the ten commandments, the Sabbath day always encouraging God’s people to believe in him and advising the people that less you confess your sins and follow his ways you will never enter his father’s kingdom. Or rather repent and change your ways. When Jesus was human who was it who kissed his feet a prostitute? Too many interpretations that led to traditions and practices that are not of Jesus’s ways. The devil is making a mockery of the Catholic church. Statues, idols, don’t make it where you can get closer to the Lord. I pray everyday that God forgives those who practice such hypocritical traditions. Amen

      • Daar Dan,

        After trusting the Church, and kissing the feet of Jesus, I understood in depth, the difference between the worship of idols and making a gesture of love to my Jesus.

        • Relationship with Jesus is the only spiritual likeness and adoration of him, that tempts me to kiss the grounds that he walked on, not the feet of a statue. We all don’t know how he even looks like but his words makes me believe and not statues that he is the my church. Yes I kiss the pictures of my grandchildren as a sign that I miss and love them so much. Because they are real and far away from me giving me joy of hope that they are God’s beautiful creations. Man made statues thinking that that is how Jesus looks like when he was crucified and to think that they still look to the statue and pray to it instead of opening up their hearts and look up at heaven in prayers. Remember, and please no more asking me where in the scripture or what not did I read this. While confessing you are confessing from the heart. For our sins have defiled our heart God’s church. Jesus did not pickup a stone and started worshiping it.

          Jesus did not carve from wood the likeness of God our father. I don’t remember even him saying worship the cross and likeness of me on it. I did not read that out of the bible. I like listening to the gospel. I’d like to be reminded of Jesus through mind, body and soul as well as from the heart and how he has suffered for us. I don’t have to go to the cross and look at that just a mere image of a statue.

          • Dan,
            We kiss the feet of Jesus because He is real and we cannot now kiss His feet because He is “far away too” since He is not physically present to us. It is a sign that we love Him. Just like kissing pictures of grandchildren is a sign of your love for them.

            We do not think that the statue accurately depicts how Jesus really looked. It just represents our beloved Savior. Who has told you this lie? Catholics do not think every statue of Jesus or another Saint depicts what they looked like. That is just not true and makes me smile at how ridiculous it is. You are being fed slanders about the Catholic Church.

            Dan, when you say:

            “they still look to the statue and pray to it instead of opening up their hearts and look up at heaven in prayers..”

            Do you realize that you are judging the heart and motives of another person, whose heart and motives you cannot actually know unless you ask them. Have you asked them? If not you are committing the sin of slander, because when we pray, we certainly ARE opening our hearts up to Heaven.

            Definition of SLANDER

            The utterance of false charges or misrepresentations which defame and damage another’s reputation

            We do not worship the cross or statues. Protestants falsely accuse us of this and refuse to believe us when we say we do not worship anyone but God. Why this lack of charity?

            Romans 14:4
            Who are you to pass judgment on the servant of another? It is before his own master that he stands or falls. And he will be upheld, for the Master is able to make him stand.

            • “The utterance of false charges or misrepresentations which defame and damage another’s reputation”

              Whose reputation are you talking about that I am slandering? Is it the devil’s reputation? I believe it is.

              “We do not worship the cross or statues. Protestants falsely accuse us of this and refuse to believe us when we say we do not worship anyone but God. Why this lack of charity?”

              Then why all the statues all around in the churches and behind the alter. An empty cross is representing enough to remind us that it was Jesus who died on that cross for our sins. Not a statue.

              Romans 14:4
              “Who are you to pass judgment on the servant of another? It is before his own master that he stands or falls. And he will be upheld, for the Master is able to make him stand.”

              I don’t pass judgement onto anyone Catholics or none Catholics. This is a Roman perhaps a high priest saying this but it was the Romans who crucified Jesus. I judge not I only pray that you concentrate on interpreting what God says from the old testaments and what Jesus says in the new testaments. The only thing I judge is how you believe. But I don’t judge as to who to forgive. Because I pray that God forgives those who misunderstands his words.

      • @Dan: Which part of the First Commandment do you not understand? Do you kiss the photo/image of the “likeness” of your kid or loved ones when they are away? Do you throw out your old tattered bible with the rest of the household trash without some care of reverence for the religious significance of the book? By doing so, are you involving in idol worship? Just remember that a devotional practice is just a pious custom and is not mandated for all Catholics. I think that you should give some credit to Catholics for knowing the distinction between God and a religious object, and to confess that there are something which you don’t understand about the sacramental life of another Christian which is not a part of your own tradition. On Good Friday when I went forward to kneel and hug the wooden cross (other people would kiss or wipe their tears), it reminded me of the passion of Christ and of what He did and accomplished on the cross for me.

Leave a Reply

