ARE SATAN’S LIES THE ROOT OF ALL SIN?


looking-lurking-and-losing_wide_t_nt1-575x323

We KNOW that Satan is the Father of Lies…

John 8:44

You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and has nothing to do with the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks according to his own nature, for he is a liar and the father of lies.

I have long held to the concept gleaned, I think from C.S. Lewis, that Satan IS very subtle when he tempts us. For instance, he does NOT say,

“Jane, why don’t you steal that candy bar.” or…

“John, you need a car, look here is one with the door unlocked. Just hotwire it and you will have a car.” or…

“Harry, look at that hot chick, you are special…too special to have sex with just one woman for life. She’ll never  know….”

What we “hear” in our head when we are tempted by the Devil is more like these thoughts implanted in our mind:

I don’t have the money right now but I really want a candy bar…no one is looking.”

I need a car. Here is one with the door unlocked….no one is looking.”

“She is hot! I’ve got some time and I deserve it because I am not like most men. I need more than just one woman for life. Variety is the spice of life after all. Mary will never know.”

I have bolded the “I’s” not to point out the egocentricity, although there is that too; but to point out the brilliant observation of C.S. Lewis, that Satan deceives us into thinking that “I” want, so that our guard is down. We are then convinced that the desire comes from within and not from a demon, and we are then much, much, much more open to the idea, the temptation,  whatever it is.

This is good to know. To always be on guard for the lies and temptations of the Devil, even when they seem to be my own desires.

I have recently been recording and watching crime shows on TV. Not the various TV series but the real ones based on real events like, Who the Bleep did I Marry, Mystery on ID,  Unusual Suspects, etc. Of course, they are troubling but I love to find out how the police caught the perpetrator. Solving the mystery is always interesting to me. Sometimes there is a motive that one can understand but many times it seems to be just gratuitous murder, for no reason, except the person was driven to murder….diabolical for sure. And, no matter what the motive, murder is always diabolical.

He was a murderer from the beginning…

No doubt some people get away with murder. Sometimes, they don’t catch the murderer. I hate those. But, a common scenario is a husband, who is having an affair but doesn’t want to divorce his wife and pay alimony, so he kills her. But then he gets caught and goes to prison for life and the children are orphaned and he has ruined his own life, killed the life of the mother of his children, ruined the lives of his children, and scarred both sets of grandparents and all the siblings. So much sorrow and damage to so many people and all to the glee of Our Enemy.

I wonder how a person could be so stupid. Didn’t they at least think about what might happen if they got caught?

Then, last Friday, while I was at Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament, I was reading a book,

The Healing of Families by Fr. Yozefu-B. Ssemakula

It is about Satan’s foothold in the lives of families. But I found this statement of Fr. Yozefu profound:

And at the root of any evil is a lie that the person believes, in order to get to the place for doing evil.

This is one reason we are exhorted not to dwell on any fantasy of sin or temptation of any kind but to pray and reject the evil thought immediately. This prevents Satan from getting a foothold and leading us to the conviction that life would be so much better if I just do ….(fill in the blank)

If you want to fill in the blank with anything that is a sin, you can be sure that Our Enemy is leading you to believe a lie…leading you into temptation.

 

Leave a Reply

